Leo – To express & appreciate oneself

The 5th house – The oasis of one’s needs & longings; for the sake of oneself

Saturn – Restriction, lessons & learning, duty

“Saturn is the reality check in life, and tends to make us serious about the things, people and attitudes we have been holding onto. If we don’t really need it, this is a time of letting go, if we do then now is ideal for making things more permanent.

Saturn is the planet that says “no” but means “yes.” The no comes from Saturn showing us what isn’t working, sometimes in the form of frustrating blockages or delays. But these help us see where we need to put in effort to make concrete changes. Saturn says “yes” as the planet of crystallization that brings energy into matter. Saturn’s presence in a sign of the zodiac shows us where we are likely to meet limits and how to construct something useful.

Saturn in Leo is considered challenging by traditional astrologers. Since Saturn rules the opposite sign Aquarius where its cool edge of reason fits so well, it is in detriment in Leo. Theoretically, this suggests that the planet and sign don’t get along well. We can understand the contrast between the warmth and personal expressiveness of Leo and Saturn’s utilitarian approach to life. The planet chills the sign. But Saturn tends to put a damper on the energy wherever it is, yet rewards with concrete results for those willing to do the work.

The job of Saturn in Leo is building the courage to express our personalities.”

I am going to backtrack a couple of years to the time my inner world began to crumble and my days of personal irresponsibility and carelessness were numbered all in this process of the ego being shattered in order for true confidence of the soul to be reborn.

Before then I was blissfully ignorant in my rebellion of my past, living it up in a youthful stupor of seeming indestructable innocence, of endless parties and mindless moments where nothing mattered but immediate self gratification; anything to numb the pain that was life.

Before then, life was an expression of the self through the ego, albeit a fractured ego, unhealthy in it’s make due to an uncomprimising upbringing.

Yet as nature will have it, judgement day came and came for me it did. Life literally as I knew it came to a halt and changed forever –

I began to grow up!…… and embrace the true desires of my heart.

Again, I must have felt it coming as I remember discussing it with an astrologically aware brother of mine at the time and expressing my nervousness of what to expect.  Soul deep, I knew what was coming, wanted it to happen, much like a 13yr old teenager, not quite an adult, looks to adults and wants to be one but knows there’s a lot of pain in between that – the pain of growing up.

The pain of trading blissful innocence for responsible knowing; called the maturing process – the price of maturity.

Appropriate too as Leo is the sign of the teenager.

Thankfully, in the midst of it I was able to go on line and discover others going through the same process and we could commiserate together. There were many other Leos whose lives could feel their sun being overshadowed by the gloom and seriousness of Saturn/maturity and it gave comfort and instilled courage to know there would be an end to it one day soon.

Part of the process was learning how to direct some of that energy inside and nurturing myself as much as I was others for it was in learning how to protect oneself that you can learn to best nurture and strengthen others.

Part was how to be patient and prepare more before expressing and to take time for the end result for it is in the preparation time one can learn so much more; it is in the details which leo can be too impatient to take the time for, that you can pick up on those fine lines in life.

I was told that I would still be the fun-loving leo I was before, I was told I would enjoy the new mature lion I was to become and I have to say they were right. In fact, I have discovered more ways to enjoy life instead of the limited way I had before that I was previously attached to.

I discovered a whole lot more to the world I live in and how to live it authentically..!

 http://www.stariq.com/pagetemplate/cosmic_weather.asp?pageid=6382

http://www.horoscoper.net/astrology/saturn.htm

